Thursday, December 8, 2011

Lee Battersby signs two-book deal

PERTH author Lee Battersby has signed a two-book deal with Angry Robot.

The publisher has picked up his fantasy novel The Corpse-Rat King, as well as its sequel as part of its open door submission month.

The Corpse Rat-King will be published next year, with the sequel to hit shelves in 2013.

It will be Battersby’s first published novel.

An Angry Robot synopsis of the project is as follows:

In the highly imaginative The Corpse-Rat King, readers are introduced to Marius Helles as he plunders the bodies of the dead after a major battle – a crime punishable by death. The dead tell Marius that they need a King – the King is God’s representative, and they need someone to speak to God and remind him where they are. He doesn’t actually want the job, but when the alternative is to deny a legion of angry corpses, it’s that or find a suitable compromise – and quickly: the dead aren’t known for their patience.

Jungle novella available for pre-order

BRETT McBean’s new novella Neighbourhood Jungle is available for pre-order through Tasmaniac Publications.

The novel is the sequel to Concrete Jungle and is available in a 180-print run, signed and numbered soft cover edition for $14.

The novella is set six months after the first and follows the story of a civilisation cast back into primitive living.

It also includes bonus short stories from Kealan Patrick Burke and R. Frederick Hamilton.

Thursday, December 1, 2011

Noctuary released

GREG Chapman’s new horror novella The Noctuary is now available through Damnation Books.
The novella is available in both ebook format for $4.50 and print for $8.26.

Midnight Echo 6 released

MIDNIGHT Echo 6: The Science Fiction Horror Special is now available.

The official fiction publication of the Australian Horror Writers Association features fiction from nine local authors including Shane Jiraiya Cummings, Andrew J McKiernan, Cat Sparks, Stephen Dedman and David Conyers.

It has been edited by David Kernot, Jason Fischer and David Conyers.

The issue also includes the 2011 Australian Horror Writers Association’s Flash Fiction and Short Story award-winning entries, as well as interviews with Charles Stross and Chris Moore.

It is available to buy in PDF and print formats.

See below for a full table of contents:

Earthworms by Cody Goodfellow

Trawling the Void by Alan Baxter
Out Hunting for Teeth by Joanne Anderton
Graveyard Orbit by Shane Jiraiya Cummings
Surgeon Scalpelfingers by Helen Stubbs
Silver-Clean by Jenny Blackford
The Wanderer in the Darkness by Andrew J McKiernan
Winds of Nzambi by David Conyers & David Kernot
Duncan Checks Out by Nicholas Stella
Dead Low by Cat Sparks
More Matter, Less Art by Stephen Dedman
Seeds by Mark Farrugia